top of page
Search
Writer's picturenoellb

Dukes of Normandy

Updated: Aug 25

When we first commence our family history research we usually only focus on our immediate family members as far as we know to be fact. This was my plan of operation for my research back when I was using a floppy disc and had no internet connection.

I was afraid of going too far beyond what I knew of the family in fear of getting it wrong. There was no real thought, by me that I would one day have the ability to research far beyond my understanding of my family history at the time.

I only had family oral history and the newspaper article of my Great Grandfather William Henry Wise to steer me in any meaningful direction, before the hard drive replaced the floppy disc.

Nowadays we have all manner of research tools/platforms, at our fingertips on our computers and iPhones. An outstanding factor in the success we have had in unravelling our family's history is our depth of dedication to the task of researching.

Over the years I have had an opportunity to help other people out with their family research and set them up on the road ahead to their discoveries. Very few if any of them have taken their family beyond where I have shown the way to, basically they don't have the time, skill or dedication to the task.

I have realised that the majority of us are happy to discover a snippet of family history and going deeper than 3 - 4 generations is not their objective.

To me, ancestry is a culmination of snippets and I have hundreds of newfound cousins who have an interest in their portion of the family and their connection to my portion (snippet) of the family.

Given all the tools and ancestral platforms available today we can find our way back deeper into our ancestry than ever before. Having said that, it is still imperative that we follow the paper or digital record trail that we all have access to through our modern devices.

On the subject of researching Rollo and or the Dukes De Normandy, there are many means towards an end online, Web sites, Blog pages and Book sale sites. I'v used all in my journeys of discovery over the years for almost all of my ancestors, if you think purchasing a book or two would be a great way to go; you would be correct.

Keep in mind that most online book sale sites may not have the books we are purchasing in stock, and waiting times can spill into many months. I recommend saving book titles to your Kindle when possible, saving you long delivery delays and extra postage costs (Dukes of Normandy from the time Rollo to the Expulsion of King John, by Philip Augustus of Franc 1839 ).

My first introduction to the Dukes De Normandy was through Rollo 1st Duke De Normandy, a Viking warrior who had succoured a permanent foothold on Frankish soil in the valley of the lower Seine river. He was granted lands by King Charles III of West Francia in the year 911 after the Siege of Charters.

The alliance between Rollo and the King saw the region that Rollo occupied given over to him in return for peace and his defending the Seine Estuary against further Viking raiders. This is the time of the birth of the place we know now as Normandy.


De Normandy Line:

1. Ivar Earl of Uplands, 770 -, 34th Great grandfather. Father of Eyestein "the Noisy".

2. Eyestein "the Noisy", Jarl of Uplands, 788 - 830, 33rd Great grandfather. father of Ragnvald I "the Wise".

3. Ragnvald I "the Wise" Eyesteinsson, 830 - 890, 32nd Great grandfather. Father of Rollo.

4. Rollo Ragnvaldsson 1st Duke De Normandy, 860 - 931, 31st Great grandfather. Father of William I "Longsword".

5. William I "Longsword" 2nd Duke De Normandy, 893 - 942, 30th Great grandfather. Father of Richard I "the Fearless".

6. Richard I "the Fearless" 3rd Duke De Normandy, 933 - 20th Nov 996, 29th Great grandfather. Father of Richard II "the Good".

7. Richard II "the Good" 4th Duke De Normandy, 978 - 23rd Aug 1026, 28th Great grandfather. Father of "Robert II "the Devil" "the Magnificent".

8. Robert II "the Devil" "the Magnificent" Duke De Normandy, 22nd Jun 1000, 28th Great grandfather. Father of Adleliza De Normandy, Father of Willian I "the Conqueror".

9. Adleliza De Normandy, 1030 - 1090, 27th Great grandaunt.




Rollo

Recommended reading:

History of the Dukes of Normandy and the Kings of England, by Paul Webster and Janet Shirley.

Dukes of Normandy from the Time of Rollo to the Explosion of King John, by Philip Augustus of France 1839.

The Story of William I, by Eva Tappan. William the Conqueror, by David Bates.

The Plantagenets, The Kings Who Made England, by Dan Jones.

The Norman Conquest, by Marc More.


Copyright © Noel Bond. Researched and written by Noel Bond, No written part of this Blog may be reproduced in any form, by any electronic or mechanical means, including information storage and retrieval systems, without written permission from the author.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page